1. Register your flatshare

Housing refugees in private accommodation provides advantages for everyone: refugees are able to live in sound accommodation, learn the language faster, and adjust to a new environment more easily. You, on the other hand, will get to know a different culture and help a person in a difficult situation. If you want to take part in this project, sign up here. We will put you in touch with a refugee who fits you and your flatshare. When you register your flatshare, we will ask you for some more details about your living situation, such as the number of flatmates, the languages you speak, your city and surroundings etc. Such information will help us match hosts with refugees.

Icon Treffen

2. We’ll get in touch with you

Following your registration, we will help you find a suitable flatmate for you. Once we have identified someone suitable, we will put you both in touch with each other so that you can get to know each other. If everybody is happy, the refugee will move in shortly after. Our FAQ explains you why a meeting between refugee and potential flatmates should happen as soon as possible.

3. Starting the funding process

There are many options to finance the rent for a room. From our experience, we recommend micro-donations: several people who provide small donations on a monthly basis. We sent e-mail requests to friends and acquaintances, and within two weeks we were able to ensure the rent for a whole year. The commitments range between 3€ and 50€ per month, using monthly bank transfers or up-front donations. Another option is to use an established platform to crowdfund. Several federal states in Germany (for example, Berlin) offer support for refugees to move out of camps and help finance the new residence. Thus, if a refugee with approved residency status moves into a flatshare in Berlin, the rent should generally be paid for by the federal state. However, there are different regulations for every federal state. Contact us for more information!

4. Here we go!

After you get to know each other, your new flatmate will move in. We will support you during this time and will be there for any questions that might arise. You can always approach a local refugee organisation, such as the matching body. Many of these provide language courses, help with connecting to the community or provide support in the search for internships or admission to university classes.

1. Anmeldung eures freien Zimmers

Die Unterbringung von geflüchteten Menschen in privaten Unterkünften hält für beide Seiten Vorteile bereit: Geflüchtete Menschen wohnen in einer angemessenen Unterkunft, finden besser Anschluss und lernen schneller die Sprache. Ihr lernt eine andere Kultur kennen und unterstützt einen Menschen in einer schwierigen Situation. Wenn ihr mitmachen wollt, meldet euch einfach hier an. Wir bringen euch in Kontakt mit einem geflüchteten Menschen, der zu euch und eurer Wohnsituation passt. Bei der Anmeldung stellen wir euch ein paar Fragen zur Wohnsituation, zum Beispiel zur Anzahl der Mitbewohner*innen, eurem Wohnort, den Sprachen, die ihr sprecht etc.. Diese Informationen helfen uns, jemanden passenden zu finden.

Icon Treffen

2. Kontakt herstellen

Wenn ihr euch angemeldet habt, vereinbaren wir einen Termin für ein gemeinsames Erstgespräch mit uns in dem wir alle offenen Fragen klären. Anschliessend suchen wir mithilfe eurer Angaben nach einer*m passenden Mitbewohner*in – z. B. in unserer Datenbank, in der sich auch geflüchtete Menschen registrieren können. Sobald wir jemanden gefunden haben, stellen wir den Kontakt zwischen euch her. Dann könnt ihr euch kennenlernen. Wenn ihr euch sympathisch findet, wird der/die neue Mitbewohner*in bald einziehen.

3. Finanzierung starten

Für die Finanzierung der Miete gibt es viele Möglichkeiten. Wir selbst haben positive Erfahrungen mit Mikrospenden gemacht und können das absolut empfehlen. Dabei sagen mehrere Leute monatliche kleine und Kleinstspenden für einen gewissen Zeitraum zu und richten einen Dauerauftrag ein. Diese Beträge bewegen sich oft zwischen 5 und 50 € monatlich. Außerdem ist es möglich, durch unser Mietkosten-Konto Mieten zu finanzieren. Dafür kann man hier spenden! Oftmals wird der Auszug aus Sammelunterkünften vom Jobcenter oder den Sozialämtern gefördert und die Mietkosten im Regelfall übernommen. Dieser Fall wird aber von Bundesland zu Bundesland unterschiedlich geregelt. Sprecht uns an!

4. Es geht los!

Nachdem ihr euch kennengelernt habt, zieht eure oder euer neue*r Mitbewohner*in bei euch ein. Wir begleiten euch natürlich während dieser Zeit und sind Ansprechpartner für eure Fragen. Ihr könnt euch auch jederzeit an Organisationen in der Geflüchteten-Hilfe in eurem Ort wenden. Viele von ihnen fördern Sprachkurse, die Vernetzung in der Community, oder helfen dabei, ein Praktikum oder den Besuch von Uni-Kursen,… zu finden.